Get to know us: Júlia and Pasquale, our Project Coordinators

without lion

Júlia Švandová

IMGP61711

Pasquale Di Benedetto

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Can you tell us little bit about yourself?

Julia: Sure 🙂 My name is Julia and apart from working for GRN, I’m currently finishing my MBA studies in Slovenia. I come from Slovakia and since traveling is my big passion, I’m changing my home every few months.

Pasquale: I am a 22-year-old student from Italy, planning to (finally) finish my MSc. in Economics at University of Pavia in December 2014 or April 2015. In fact, while I am working here, I am also studying for my last 3 exams, working on my final thesis and looking for a summer Internship. PS. I’m not that weird guy in the photo 🙂

And what are your professional interests?

Julia: One of my characteristics is that I’m interested in too many things. What I discovered about myself until now is that I really like HR work and everything connected to that. This seems to be the closest professional area to my personality and interests because it’s a lot about people, psychology and communication. Also, I enjoy Marketing (especially PR), NGO field (currently I’m establishing my own foundation), so I’m trying to figure out how to combine this all in my future job 🙂

Pasquale: Well, good question. First of all, I have several different (sometimes opposite) interests in business. I’m interested in Corporate Finance, in Risk Management, in Human Resources (and thanks to this Internship, I will learn more about Recruiting), but I’m also fascinated by Business/Management Consulting. Moreover, I like to travel, and thanks to passion, I have also started to study Hotel/Tourism Management; in fact, the topic of my master thesis will be something related to that (Yield management)

I know that it seems weird; everyone has a “dream job”…. well, I do not. At least, I don’t yet. I would like to find a job in one of the fields I’ve mentioned before, maybe keep working abroad for a few years (New Zealand is in my short-term plans), and then go back Italy permanently. Gaining different professional experience will surely help me to clarify ideas about my future.

What brings you to Prague?

Julia: As mentioned before, I really love traveling so discovering new places and cities belongs to my life 🙂 Since I’m finishing my studies I should probably start to make long-term decisions not only planning the next few months. That’s why I’ve decided to come to Prague, because for me as a Slovak, this is something between being abroad and being at home. Czech Republic is very similar to Slovakia, but Prague is an international metropolis with many opportunities in all aspects compared to Bratislava. Moreover, I always liked Prague and I enjoyed the time here so when I was accepted with GRN I didn’t hesitate for a second.

Pasquale: No doubts, the chance to grow professionally, thanks to this work experience in an area which I’m interested in. In Italy, young people or fresh-graduates with experience abroad are not really common, and I am grateful to GRN for this opportunity. It will be a big plus on my CV. I won a grant for the Erasmus Placement in October 2013, so I will work here until June 2014.

Did you have any troubles moving away from home and adapting to a new environment?

Julia: Not at all. Changing my home address is completely normal for me, Prague is actually my 5th home already 🙂 It’s always a challenge to get out of your comfort zone but probably this is what I like the most and this is how I’m improving myself all the time.

Pasquale: I know a thing or two about the overwhelming uncertainty of leaving the comforts of home, the indefinite “see-you-laters” at the departure gates, and I also like fearlessly going into the unknown because I know the feeling of return. And that “I’ve-missed-you-hug” is the best type of hug in the whole world.

I lived alone (and traveled) since I was 18 years old, so for me, getting comfortable in a new environment takes not more than 2 or 3 days. For sure, the language is a big problem here in Czech Republic (at least for a Latin-native speaker); I have had the same troubles when I lived in Germany last year. So, it’s not a new challenge for me to face a completely different language…but we are in 2014, everyone has to speak English.

What are your main job responsibilities at GRN?

Julia: My position as a “Project Coordinator” basically means trying to make the work of our consultants easier. I conduct the research, looking for the targeted candidates and sometimes I also attend their interview with our consultants. Here I learn a lot about how to present yourself in the best way, how to tailor your CV or how to make your LinkedIn profile interesting. Also, I’m responsible for searching for our future GRN interns and the whole hiring process – from communication with universities to the interviews with applicants. Sometimes I write a blog article or I’m  researching for interesting articles/quotes for our social media channels. Working at GRN gives me the opportunity to be creative and learn not only about the headhunting process but also about social media and communication with people.

Pasquale: Since I am here as ‘Project Coordinator’ my role is quite similar to Julia’s. So as she mentioned, we are responsible for the hiring process of new interns (contact with universities’ offices, interviews with applicants), we also write articles for our blog; thanks to that we can learn a lot about the hiring process (and above all, on how to write a brilliant CV. Don’t miss our Tips in the GRN Blog). For now, I’m particularly focused on a project in which I am responsible for the organization of all aspects of a Social Media Strategy for a client here in Prague.

Do you think working for GRN will help you in your business career?

Julia: I’m sure it will. First of all, I’ll have a better job market overview in the Czech Republic, knowing which companies are here and for which I would like to work after my internship. Also, enlarging my social network and gaining experience from our successful headhunters will surely be very useful 🙂

Pasquale: For sure. Finishing my MSc. with the maximum grade, along with already having work experience abroad (maybe two, if my Summer Internship research will be successful) & in an area which I’m interested in — well I think all of that combined would be at least a good “calling card” (fingers crossed)….

10 Quick Choices

Julia Pasquale
COFFEE or tea (coffee addicted!)
morning or EVENING
(Oh I’ll never be a morning person)
SPORT and ART (I like to combine them)
DOG or cat
ROCK and JAZZ
(depending on my mood, I like both)
VODKA or whiskey
(but wine is my favorite!)
steak or SOUP
CAKE or crisps
linkedin or FACEBOOK
(I guess, I should say LinkedIn here 🙂 )
resume or CV
COFFEE or tea
(you know, I’m Italian)
morning or EVENING
(never-ending nights lead to miserable mornings)
SPORTS or art
dog or cat
(Mmm..fish)
ROCK or jazz
VODKA or whiskey (G&T!)
STEAK or soup
(definitely)
cake or CRISPS
linkedin or FACEBOOK
resume or CV
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s