Get to know us: Richard van Horssen, our new Project Coordinator

This time we would like to introduce our new Project Coordinator, Richard van Horssen from The Netherlands. Richard spends 6 months at GRN between September and March. It’s not his first work experience in Prague, and maybe not the last one…

RichardSo, Richard, could you please tell us a little bit about yourself and your background?

I am a 24 year old student from the Netherlands and always interested in traveling and meeting new people. That is why I am studying International Business and Languages at the Rotterdam Business School and part of this study course there is an internship, which has to be done abroad. Beside this, I’m a huge sports lover, especially football (the European way).

What brought you to Prague and how do you like it?

Last year I worked in Prague and my girlfriend lives here, so obviously I was looking for an internship in Prague. And then I ran into this very interesting and exciting opportunity. Prague is by far the most beautiful city I know and there is always something new to discover. So many beautiful places and views and an infinite amount of bars and restaurants!

What are your main job responsibilities at GRN?

I am mainly a researcher, which means I search for candidates and approach them to find out if they are interested in a position we have available for them. Part of the researching job is finding possible candidates, but also to look for companies that are posting interesting vacancies. For a project I will work with a partner firm in Budapest as well, so that makes it even more international.

Do you think working for GRN will help you in your business career?

Definitely, it’s so good to see the process of a recruitment from another perspective. Moreover, I can improve my communication skills here and there are very good networking opportunities. It’s fascinating to learn how GRN always strives for the perfect match between company and candidate, it’s never a routine job. I have also learned how to enhance my online presence, like how to present yourself on social media.

What is your plan after this internship at GRN?

I’ll return to the Netherlands to continue my studies, but only for one semester because then my next semester abroad is coming up; half a year at a partner university, but where is yet to be decided. The big challenge is that I’ll have to do it completely in German or Spanish (it’s part of the International Business AND Languages study course). Considering my current progress, I’ll go to a German speaking country.

Finally, see his “10 choices” to find out more about him:

Coffee or Tea                                     »Coffee

Morning or Evening                            »Evening

Sports or Art                                       »Sports

Dog or Cat                                          »Cat

Rock or Jazz                                        »Jazz (or techno, I’m Dutch after all…)

Vodka or Whiskey                                »Vodka (lemon vodka!)

Steak or Soup                                      »Steak

Cake or Crisps                                    »nah, neither

LinkedIn or Facebook                          »Facebook

Resume or CV                                      »CV

Leave a Reply

