Get to know us: Vedran Devčić, our Project Coordinator

This time we would like to introduce our Project Coordinator, Vedran Devčić from Croatia. Vedran has spent 6 months at GRN between September and March. This has been his first work experience in Prague, and we hope not the last.

vedrand

Could you please tell us a little bit about yourself and your background?

I was born in 1990 in Varaždin, Croatia where I used to go to primary and secondary school. After finishing secondary school I moved to Zagreb to study sociology at the Center for Croatian studies, University of Zagreb where I also continued with my masters’ studies. I also participated in the Erasmus exchange program at the Corvinus University of Budapest.

What are your plans after finishing your internship at GRN Czech Republic?

I will go back to Croatia to write my thesis and finish my masters. After that I will look around to see what possibilities I have.

Did you have any troubles moving away from home and adapting to a new environment?

In the beginning it was hard for me to realize what I have “left behind”, like my friends, memories, and the mentality; but with time I got used to Prague. I got used to its energy, its people and diversity, which has helped me to live here for the past 6 months.

What brought you to Prague and how do you like it?

After my Erasmus experience I wanted to try something new. I knew that I wanted to have another international experience, but I also knew that I didn’t want to study for exams anymore. I decided to apply for the Erasmus Placement Program, and luckily, I received a positive response from GRN Czech Republic. So far, I have enjoyed Prague and I am looking forward to seeing more of it.

Do you think working at GRN Czech will help you in your professional career?

Yes, for sure. This is a really beneficial experience for me, to live and work in an international environment. Skills, friends, connections and the knowledge which I have gained here can definitely help me in the future.

 

10 choices :

Coffee or Tea: Tea ( I am a hyperactive person so I don’t think that coffee is a good choice for me )

Morning or Evening: Morning ( I like to do everything in the morning to have the rest of the day free)

Sports or Art: Sports ( I am not a really artistic person)

Dog or Cat: None

Rock or Jazz: Trance ( Rock and jazz are not complex enough as music styles for me)

Vodka or Whiskey: Rakija (It’s stronger and there are always funny memories)

Steak or Soup: Steak (I enjoy eating meat )

Cake or Crisps: Cake (Sugar )

LinkedIn or Facebook: Facebook (there is a bigger variety on FB)

Resume or CV: CV

Leave a Reply

